posted in: News | 0

From Sarnia to Tobermory, thousands of permanent and seasonal residents and visitors enjoy all that Lake Huron’s southeast shoreline has to offer. Its coastal ecosystems include sand beaches, dunes, bluffs, creeks, rivers, wetlands, nearshore waters and woodlands. At times, these systems are affected negatively by non-point source pollution, shoreline development, invasive species and a changing climate. To create a unified vision for Lake Huron coastal conservation and stewardship efforts, the Lake Huron Centre for Coastal Conservation is developing a Coastal Action Plan – a coordinated approach to environmental management issues and strategies.

You are invited to participate in the development of this plan in two ways.  You can complete the Coastal Action Plan Questionnaire found on the Coastal Centre’s website at www.lakehuron.ca.  This questionnaire closes on August 31, 2017.  And/or you can attend the Coastal Community Workshop being held at the Grand Bend Recreation Centre (15 Gill Road – beside the Grand Bend Public School) at 6:30 pm on Thursday, August 24th.

Ongoing Beach Clean-up

posted in: News | 0

One of our member associations has made a request that all shoreline residents take steps to eradicate wire and other metals on the beach. In spite of organized beach clean-up events, we continue to experience some unique storms during these times of high waters that result in random debris on our properties on a frequent basis. It is also possible that some of us may not be as careful as we could be with what we bring to the beach. In the interest of safety and the beach we all cherish, let’s do our best in staying on top of this situation.